What to Read Next: Starsight

StarsightRecently, we've witnessed in the world of young adult literature a resurgence of science fiction and space adventure series being published. Starsight, which is the second book in Brandon Sanderson's Skyward series, follows Spensa as she continues on her journey to become a pilot, but also grapples with the truths she is discovering about who her father truly is. There's also space monsters and alien politics to unpack, which makes for an action-packed novel filled with a colorful crew as well.

If you have already read Skyward and Starsight, there are a few other science fiction novels we think you should check out. The first being Aurora Rising by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff. This intergalactic space opera is filled with action, thrills, snarky comments and a rag-tag crew of various species trying to save the day and uncover the truth. If you liked the movie Guardians of the Galaxy, you'll definitely love the crew aboard this ship.

If you're interested in reading another story about an alien invasion, you should give the graphic novel Last Pick by Jason Walz a chance! This graphic novel takes place amidst an alien invasion and take over that has left Earth under their control with only those the alien race assumed would not be a threat. Join twins Sam and Wyatt as they step up to the plate to start a revolution.

Another gripping story set in space is Ignite the Stars by Maura Milan. This story follows the universe's most wanted criminal, who just happens to be a 17-year-old girl named Ia Cocha. When she is captured and surrenders to the Olympus Commonwealth (who destroyed her home planet), she is forced to enroll in the Royal Star Force Academy, where she meets two other less-than-happy teens. But as the teens learn more about one another, they realize that they might have more in common than they think!

And lastly, A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray is another Sci-Fi read that shows that not everything is as it seems. When Marguerite Caine's father is murdered, she determines to follow the murderer into another dimension, racing after him through various universes, meeting alternate versions of people she knows in her dimension. As the story progresses, she starts to discover that the truth behind her father's death isn't as simple as she believed it to be.

All of these books are available through our online catalog, and you can check out the ones available digitally right now! 

We welcome your respectful and on-topic comments and questions in this limited public forum. To find out more, please see Appropriate Use When Posting Content. Community-contributed content represents the views of the user, not those of Kent District Library