Congratulations Write Michigan Winners!

Kent District Library, Hancock School Public Library and Schuler Books & Music announce the winners of the ninth annual Write Michigan Short Story Contest. Over 950 writers from across the state entered the contest in four categories —249 adults, 367 teens, 283 youth and 52 Spanish writers (11 and younger).

Winners were chosen by public voting at for the $500 Readers’ Choice award, and by a panel of judges for the $500 Judges’ Choice and $250 Judges’ Choice Runner-up awards. Winners will be honored at a virtual awards ceremony in March.


Judges’ Choice Winner
Karen McPhee, Lowell
Forever Things 

Judges’ Choice Runner-Up
Liene Strautnieks, Grand Rapids

Readers’ Choice Winner
Benson Brazier, Grand Rapids
Dark Lord Sounds A Bit Harsh, Don't You Think

Published Finalists
Bailey Burke, Grand Rapids
Tree Rings

EF Coigne, Belmont
Dance With Me

Ariella Hillary, Negaunee
Strawberry Jam


Judges’ Choice Winner
Lani Khuu, Byron Center
Multitudes of Blue

Judges’ Choice Runner-Up
Abigail Kloha, St. Johns

Readers’ Choice Winner
Hannah Haines, Grand Rapids

Published Finalists
Kate Zalapi-Bull, Farmington Hills
The Body in the Creek

Grace Jacobson, Tustin
The Littlest Chickadee

Kevina Clear, Niles
Glass Slippers


Judges’ Choice Winner
Emerson Gerard, Rockford
Adventures in Fairy Land

Judges’ Choice Runner-Up
Lillian Stielstra, Holland
Star's Journey

Readers’ Choice Winner
Zack Zupin, Kentwood
Who Knows Where the Railroad Goes 

Published Finalists
Shelley Ouyang, Ann Arbor
All for a Placement  

Andrew Wright, Sheridan
The Stones 

Ellie Hardy, Rockford
Space Cat 


Judges’ Choice Winner
Xavier Irizarry, Zeeland
La Posición 

Judges’ Choice Runner-Up
Lucio Gunckel, Ann Arbor
Toby y Stanley unos perros extraordinarios  

Readers’ Choice Winner
Cailynn Hamilton, Grand Rapids
Espia Catalina

Published Finalists
Anja Phillips, Holland
La Princesa del Mar 

Alivia Schnakenberg, Zeeland
Historia Contra Historia  

Harper Davis, Grand Rapids
El Sr. José