Write Michigan winners announced

Kent District Library and Schuler Books & Music announce the winners of the eighth annual Write Michigan Short Story Contest. About 1,100 writers from across the state entered the contest in four categories —269 adults, 488 teens, 244 youth and 93 Spanish writers.

"It was exciting to see stories come in from all over the state, and we were so impressed with the variety and quality of the stories," said Katie Zuidema, Communications Specialist for Kent District Library.

Winners were chosen by public voting at www.writemichigan.org for the $500 Readers’ Choice award, and by a panel of judges for the $500 Judges’ Choice and $250 Judges’ Choice Runner-up awards. They will be honored at an awards ceremony at Schuler Books & Music.


Judges’ Choice Winner
Debbie TenBrink, Grand Rapids
First, Do No Harm

Judges’ Choice Runner-Up
Daniel Johnson, Schoolcraft

Readers’ Choice Winner
Michelle Kastanek, Alto
Return to Aberlorne

Published Finalists
Susan Lovell, Grand Rapids
The Summer of Andrea

Lauren Miramonti, Chesterfield
For the Stars

Robert Papp, Grand Rapids
The Devil in Niyah’s Eyes


Judges’ Choice Winner
Anja Van Drunen, Wyoming
A Chance Encounter

Judges’ Choice Runner-Up
Samantha Kroll, Coleman
She Forgot Herself

Readers’ Choice Winner
Taylor Johnson, Fruitport
Daisy’s Angel

Published Finalists
Emily Curtis, White Cloud

Meredith Mead, Traverse City

Sophie Sales, Rockford
The Meadow


Judges’ Choice Winner
Ashley Cole, Byron Center
Finding Hope

Judges’ Choice Runner-Up
Ramona Wilke, Rockford
Urban Virus

Readers’ Choice Winner
Gabriella Murphy, Clarkston
Diary of a Galaxy Princess: The Forbidden Planet

Published Finalists
Allison Malone, Caledonia
Birds of Flight

Amelia Schmidt, Kentwood
A Brush with Fame

Cecilia Woodring, Ann Arbor
The Moon Queen


Judges’ Choice Winner
Tricia Zelaya, Sparta

Judges’ Choice Runner-Up
Nina Baldwin, Mount Pleasant
Diosa de su gente, extraña para los demás

Readers’ Choice Winner
Alain Saralegui, Grand Rapids
Los novios transoceánicos

Published Finalists
Chandler Brown, Mount Pleasant
Una vida escondida

Pablo Castro, Grand Rapids
Como en las películas

Anna VanDyken, Grandville
Mi peor pesadilla